Monday, March 23, 2026

IM Flotsam

 

While noodling around in a bunch of old files I came across this exchange of members of a photo club I modeled for when I was in high school after I came back to the states.  I've mentioned before that I posed for both artists and photographers but I totally forgot that for some reason I saved this exchange. Reading it, I can't remember what it was all about but Stefanie sure was upset about something.  Just laugh about it now.  I'd completely forgotten about all of those people until I found this. Funny how memories are stored but not available to you until something prompts the recall.
But once those days were brought to mind a flood of other memories of those days rushed in on me.  I was having so much fun discovering America after so many years overseas.  Yes, there were bad things that happened, as I've written, and I missed my old high school and my old friends, but it was wonderful emerging into adulthood in that time and place.  My mind lingers.... 
Can I still fit into the outfits I wore for those photo shoots -- or didn't wear! -- today?  Almost. No, really. My hips have spread a bit, thanks to childbirth but my waist has not spread equally so my waist:hip ratio is a bit better.  My boobs are bigger.  I work out regularly so I am more muscular, with stronger thighs and more defined calves. My arms are more toned and have some muscle mass, that sort of thing. A lot of women get pudgy as they get older, but I have become more toned. Someone once told me that I have ice skater legs. My boobs aren't saggy, either. I think that's genetic. My mother still has a great set of headlights. 
The other day some teenage boys I walked by called me a MILF they'd like to snack on. I had to consider whether that was a compliment or not.  I decided it was.  And I thought about going back and passing by them again, stopping and bending over in front of them pretending to adjust something, giving them a nice view.  But I didn't. What if my back went out on me when I bent over? Haha.
One time when I was a teen, my dad was rummaging through junk in the garage and I was hanging out with him yakking away while he pretended to listen, he came across a pile of oil paintings in the middle of which I had tucked away a nude painting of me that the artist had gifted me. When he saw it, he pulled it out, puzzled, then said, "Good Lord, is this you squirt?"  I said, "Uh...maybe...." He studied it for a minute, said, "Well, it doesn't do the subject justice." Then he put it back and never said another word about it.  I was sure he was going to tell my mother and certain death would follow.  But he didn't, as far as I know, because nothing ever came of it.
What's that? Hadn't I told my parents I was -- coughnudecough -- modeling? Are you kidding? Of course not.  Dad might have said okay but my mother would have put her foot down most firmly.  I knew that, and questions you know the answer to you don't have to ask. Right?

Yeah, I have been reminiscing a lot about my past lately, rummaging through junk from my childhood and teenage years.  Kind of an escape from the now, I guess. It ain't been a good year so far.

Anyway, here's the scrap of instant messaging from the great before.

***********************************

Wanda by Jimmy.

Stefanie: As Mike said, there have been MANY such topics. I posted my photos in the open forum, which clearly states 'Anything- so long as it's legal'. I honestly think Alicia was pissed off because Jimmy was taking ALOT of interest in Wandas thread as well as her pics. I am sorry if she is a friend of Bills, but I think it was odd that she posted what she did in my thread and not Wandas as well- since it seemed like her post was directed to both of us. I think that was in poor taste. I have seen discussions about all sorts of garbage- never has Alicia said a word...till now....odd.....sorry but I think she was being gross.
That's why I said "whatever", women who only object to other women really bug me. So long as Jimmy isn't interested it's ok.....
Peter:  Look guys, I am not totally sure why Wanda decided to leave. I think in time she might reconsider but regardless, she is a good friend of mine & I don't want to see her go but it's her decision. I must respect it.
In time, we'll see. It upsets me because she is my friend & I will miss her.
I keep my fingers crossed. There is a lot going on in her life as well. I mean we all have times when things R busy & priorities change. I hope this passes, that's all.
Frank: I don't think Wanda's leaving had anything to do with her photos because I remember she enjoyed posing for them, at least I thought so, she was always smiling and laughing.
Bill: I think Wanda is in France but I don't recall where I got that information. I wasn't a Wanda groupie though from what I have heard I really missed out. But remember this was just a job for her that she took to earn money for what she really wanted to do.  It was always going to be a temporary gig.